New Region

As you are all aware by now, Bowls Victoria has initiated a Region Boundary Review.
Geoff Howes and Marian Craze were invited to a meeting with BV, together with Barry Brown and Joy MacArthur from Bendigo Campaspe Region and Stephen Piercy BVRR.
We were informed that Divisions were to be eliminated and that there would be 16 Regions across Victoria. We were not to divulge any information about this until all BV meetings had been held. This was to be the end of March. We were to hold a meeting this week on the 6th April with Campaspe to decide our new name and to get the ball rolling.
This decision by BV is non negotiable and a timeline of 2021 was aimed for but would be 2020 if possible.
Since that meeting it has come to light that we are to incorporate seven clubs from Goldfields Division. That makes 39 Clubs in this ‘new’ Region.
The BBD Board made the decision to write to BV asking them to holt proceedings until meetings could be held with our clubs, to discuss the issue fully and look at the implications involved.
In such unprecedented circumstances that we are all experiencing at present we were totally opposed to this initiation progressing until we were able to open Clubs again.
Sadly we are being forced to embrace this without any input from Clubs or our membership. 10 years ago during Unification changes to boundaries Bowls Victoria had meetings with all Victorian Clubs unfortunatelyy this is not happening on this occasion.
This Board is determined that we need time to absorb the implications and ramifications of running this larger Region and how this will affect Clubs and all Division members with all future competitions and events. Those Clubs and members worried about our current Pennant Competition, please note we can still have playing areas therefore our current Pennant Competition does not have to change.

The Board wishes all to take care, stay safe and hopefully to be ready to go when we are able to get on the green once again.

Chairman Marian Craze. Deputy Chairman Arthur Harrison, Secretary Geoff Howes, Treasurer Stephen Piercy and Directors Mike Greenwood, Ann Howe, Coral Maxted and Tony Doolan.